Matir Asurim: A prayer-poem on reading Parshat Vayetzei

Blessed are you Source of Being
Who forbids and permits
Opens and closes
Binds and sets free
Captives and brides.
Who permits me to myself, releases me 
To my desire.

I permit. I release. I let go and reclaim
my body
this sacred vessel
this instrument of the divine 
The House 
of my soul, my mind, my heart,
My wants, my love,
My gifts and receiving. 

All of my being calls out
Bo elai - come to me. 
Untie these knots
And I will weave them anew.

Some sources that serve as inspiration for this poem:

Blessed are you Hashem, our God, sovereign of the universe who releases the bound. (Morning blessings, daily prayer book)

Blessed are you Adonai, our God, sovereign of the universe, who sanctifies us with your commandments and instructs us regarding sexual relationships, forbids to us betrothed women, and permits to us those who are married to us by means of chuppah and kiddushin. Blessed are you Hashem, who sanctifies your people Israel by means of chuppah and kiddushin. (Birkat erusin, Traditional Jewish wedding ceremony)

When Jacob came home from the field in the evening, Leah went out to meet him and said, “Tavo elai – you shall come to me…” (Genesis 30:16)

I have put together a sourcesheet including the texts that I draw from on Sefaria.

You can listen and watch me read the poem below:

Leave a comment